• Trouble logging in? Send us a message with your username and/or email address for help.
I bought LED Christmas lights to be "green." I hate them. They are supposed to be white, but they are freakin' blue. :bang: I am a Tulane grad, so I guess they are my Hannukah lights. :dunno:

As an alternative, I could add my orange lights to them to invoke a Gator theme to my Christmas decorations.

Matt J

SWGB
May 9, 2007
50,000 hours
2083.33 days
5.71 years

That's if you left it on continuously.

Matt J

SWGB
May 9, 2007
I bought LED Christmas lights to be "green." I hate them. They are supposed to be white, but they are freakin' blue. :bang: I am a Tulane grad, so I guess they are my Hannukah lights. :dunno:

As an alternative, I could add my orange lights to them to invoke a Gator theme to my Christmas decorations.

Look again, they are in fact white. The eye sees blue since regular bulbs put off a yellow glow. Hold them up to a piece of white paper.

Look again, they are in fact white. The eye sees blue since regular bulbs put off a yellow glow. Hold them up to a piece of white paper.
You are right. The "white" lights to which we are accustomed actually emit a yellow tone. Double-E researcher/future son-in-law says that since the LED lights are directional, it exacerbates this effect. He suggested sanding the bulbs. Like I'll sand 50 lights per strand. They'll just have to look blue.

Hey, John R., do the bulbs that Ecogeek suggests require a Hazmat team in case one breaks, as is true with the twirly ones?

Last edited:

Danny Burns

Beach Fanatic
Jul 23, 2007
Inlet Beach
www.myspace.com
You are right. The "white" lights to which we are accustomed actually emit a yellow tone. Double-E researcher/future son-in-law says that since the LED lights are directional, it exacerbates this effect. He suggested sanding the bulbs. Like I'll sand 50 lights per strand. They'll just have to look blue.