• Trouble logging in? Send us a message with your username and/or email address for help.

pmd8

Beach Lover
Jul 27, 2005
Thanks in advance for any advice.

I'm contemplating buying a one or two-bedroom Katrina cottage and placing it on a half-acre lot in Inlet Beach. It needs to make financial sense for me to make the investment.

It would have great views of the Gulf from the deck and would be about a 5 minute walk to the beach. You would have limited views of the Gulf from the cottage because of all the trees. The deck is about 4 feet off the ground.

I would allow dogs with breed restrictions.

The 2-bedroom cottage is 728 square feet and has one bath.

The 1-bedroom cottages are easier to find and are about 400 square feet.

What could I reasonably expect to get in rent?

Thanks again for your input.

Kurt

Admin
Staff member
Oct 15, 2004
SoWal
mooncreek.com
I'm no expert. I think nice two bedrooms are around $1,200 per month. Possibly higher that close to the gulf. I hope someone chimes in.

Have you considered short term? You might get that much per week in summer. Less if it is north of 98.

Can you tell us where you get and how much katrina cottages are, and what you expect your total investment to be in the cottage alone without the lot?

Making financial sense depends on factors such as cash or financing, down payment, how long you hold it, etc. so it's hard to say without more details.

Last edited:

steel1man

Beach Fanatic
Jan 10, 2013
If you own the lot free and clear, then maybe. But seems small for a family vacation rental.if the cottage is practically free then YES, and later add on to it. I would say about $800-$900 pre week for about 8 maybe 10 weeks in season , plus $500 ish 4-5 weeks for spring break....IMO

pmd8

Beach Lover
Jul 27, 2005
Thanks for your input.

I own the lot and plan on keeping it at least 3 years. It's south of 98 and because of its elevation it has really nice views.