American Bald Eagle at Western Lake

Discussion in 'Photos and Videos' started by Kurt Lischka, Oct 23, 2012.

1. Kurt Lischka

Kurt Lischka Admin Staff Member

I saw this eagle on Sunday. I assume it is one of the two which frequent this perch and have often been seen together overlooking Western Lake in Grayton Beach State Park on the north side of Scenic 30A. I assume the pair are mates. Let us know if you see any eagles.

121021-grayton-004.jpg

Bald eagles mate for life, but when one dies, the survivor will not hesitate to accept a new mate. During breeding season, both birds protect the nest territory from other eagles and predators.
    http://www.baldeagleinfo.com/eagle/eagle4.html

2. Porkchop

Porkchop Beach Comber

Kurt, I saw a Bald on Friday afternoon over Blue Mountain Beach. Any idea where it nests? I'm just getting into birding photography. Any tips on nesting sites of eagles or ospreys that I can stake out with my new 400mm lens?

Thanks,

Bill

3. Beach Runner

Beach Runner beats on hood

Near the ATL and in SoWal as often as possible
    Am I just gonna have to camp out at Western Lake to see one of these eagles? I can't count how many times we've driven through there searching for one.

4. Jenksy

Jenksy Beach Fanatic

I think they are deep in the forests.

5. Kurt Lischka

Sorry I'm no help. I don't know where any nests are. But happy hunting! Let's see some photos!

6. rmac

rmac Beach Comber

Eastern Lake Sighting

My friend, Ted Missildine, called around mid-afternoon today to tell me that a couple of eagles had been spotted in the area of his home near Eastern Lake, and he asked if I was interested. Of course I was, so I grabbed my camera and telephoto lens and drove over there. When I arrived Ted pointed out two eagles sitting at the tops of adjacent pine trees about 200 yards from his house.