• Trouble logging in? Send us a message with your username and/or email address for help.

Kurt

Admin
Staff member
Oct 15, 2004
SoWal
mooncreek.com
I saw this eagle on Sunday. I assume it is one of the two which frequent this perch and have often been seen together overlooking Western Lake in Grayton Beach State Park on the north side of Scenic 30A. I assume the pair are mates. Let us know if you see any eagles.

121021-grayton-004.jpg

Bald eagles mate for life, but when one dies, the survivor will not hesitate to accept a new mate. During breeding season, both birds protect the nest territory from other eagles and predators.
http://www.baldeagleinfo.com/eagle/eagle4.html

Porkchop

Beach Comber
Nov 16, 2010
Blue Mountain Beach
Kurt, I saw a Bald on Friday afternoon over Blue Mountain Beach. Any idea where it nests? I'm just getting into birding photography. Any tips on nesting sites of eagles or ospreys that I can stake out with my new 400mm lens?

Thanks,

Bill

Jenksy

Beach Fanatic
Oct 25, 2012
Kurt, I saw a Bald on Friday afternoon over Blue Mountain Beach. Any idea where it nests? I'm just getting into birding photography. Any tips on nesting sites of eagles or ospreys that I can stake out with my new 400mm lens?

Thanks,

Bill

I think they are deep in the forests.

Kurt

Admin
Staff member
Oct 15, 2004
SoWal
mooncreek.com

Thanks,

Bill

Sorry I'm no help. I don't know where any nests are. But happy hunting! Let's see some photos!

rmac

Beach Comber
Eastern Lake Sighting

My friend, Ted Missildine, called around mid-afternoon today to tell me that a couple of eagles had been spotted in the area of his home near Eastern Lake, and he asked if I was interested. Of course I was, so I grabbed my camera and telephoto lens and drove over there. When I arrived Ted pointed out two eagles sitting at the tops of adjacent pine trees about 200 yards from his house.