Heron's Watch Condos

Discussion in 'Real Estate' started by barrett, Sep 12, 2008.

1. barrett

barrett Beach Comber

I have been a lurker here for a while, now I have a question. Could anybody with real estate experince in the area tell me about the Heron's Watch Condos. Are they soundly constructed, would they be a good investment and such. Thanks for any answers and have a great day.

2. Bob

Bob SoWal Insider

I think Bobby J knows Heron's Watch

3. Smiling JOe

Smiling JOe SoWal Expert

I have a couple of friends who own condos there. I am a Realtor, but I am not a construction engineer, and cannot vouch for "sound construction" on any building. I can tell you that I haven't heard any negatives regarding construction on those condos.

As for "good investment," that depends on your definition of good investments, purchase price, interest rates, down-payment, rental income, occupancy rate, cash flow, and tax benefits.

4. beachmouse

beachmouse Beach Fanatic

They were originally built to be affordable and nice workforce housing. Unless a flipper 'updated' the units, you're probably not talking granite/stainless, but something more modest.

5. Bobby J

Bobby J Beach Fanatic

I have sold a few units in Heron's Watch over the years. Had a sale recently. I have never had any complaints from the buyers. I am a little surprised at how much they have dropped in value. There are three units in the complex under $120,000. Two of them are bank owned. I would think if this was in your price range and where you were looking it might be something worth taking a deeper look at. Looking at the MLS system the association fees range from $210 a month to $350 per month. If I remember correctly the correct fee is $350 per month. Maybe a little less. I would give the construction a B-.

6. Matt J

Matt J SWGB

Bobby J is the difference in dues based on the size of the unit or are all the Heron's Watch condos the same size?

7. Franny

Franny Beach Fanatic