Management company

Discussion in 'Rentals - Vacation' started by soozie58, Jul 5, 2005.

1. soozie58

soozie58 Beach Lover

I recently purchased a cottage in Old Florida Village. I am interested in renting it via my own contacts and the internet. Does anyone know of a company that I can contract that will just do management ie: cleaning, maintenance, checking the place out, but no rentals. Help!!! I am new to this!!!

2. Just_In_Thyme

Just_In_Thyme Beach Lover

We use Beach Rentals of South Walton and they have been pretty good to work with. I book the majority of the rentals myself.

3. Philip_Atlanta

Philip_Atlanta Beach Lover

Beach Rentals of South Walton will do this for you; however, I just had an absolutely horrible experience with them. Long story, which I won't get into as I'm considering pursuing criminal actions with them - but on my experience I severed my contract with them and won't recommend them to anyone. Check out their BBB record if you want an unbiased opinion. I can tell you its NOT good.

I'd recommend that you at least explore doing this without a management company. There is a thread on here that lists several quality cleaning companies (that will be your hard part) and there is a company here that will check on your house for you and also be the goto person for maintenance issues for a small fee, Sunburst if I remember right.

Marketing wise, get a website up and advertise on vrbo.com. That will get you started.

FYI I found this book quite effective --

Amazon.com: How To Rent Vacation Properties By Owner: The Complete Guide to Buy, Manage, Furnish, Rent, Maintain and Advertise Your Vacation Rental Investment: Christine Hrib-Karpinski: Books

Last edited: Jul 5, 2005
  4. ShallowsNole

ShallowsNole Beach Fanatic

I would recommend Christine Karpinski's book as well - she owns a condo in Miramar Beach and lives in the Atlanta area. She can also be contacted via http://www.howtorentbyowner.com/ (no, I don't get a kickback)!