• Trouble logging in? Send us a message with your username and/or email address for help.

tsutcli

Beach Fanatic
Jan 14, 2008
Seacrest
I agree the dog on the beach is the problem but I have lived here a long time and am very familiar with our beach and all that goes on there. I used to live on the beach. And I can tell you it is our visitors that abuse the beach in many ways and totally ignore signs, beach flags, ordinances, rules on the bike path and I could go on. It is not just my opinion it is the was it IS!!! Just yesterday I was on the beach trying to get rid of an unleashed dog that attached itself to my leg! No, the dog owners did not live here and they knew better. As a resident I should be able to walk the beach anytime I want and feel safe from unleashed dogs. An unleashed dog that I don't know that is heading toward me you bet is a nuisance and sometimes I am fearful for my safety. I should be able to walk the beach without that stress!!! Most of the dogs I see are not permitted anyway and shouldn't even be on the beach! And yes, I am an animal lover and dog owner but I personally don't think dogs belong on the beach so mine stays home!

Last edited:

Jdarg

SoWal Expert
Feb 15, 2005
I love bringing my dogs to the beach. Yes, they are on a leash. This is one of the reasons that Walton County just doesn't do it for me anymore. Too many rules, too many restrictions.

Then why do you still participate on the SoWal.com forum? Just curious.

tsutcli

Beach Fanatic
Jan 14, 2008
Seacrest
Yes, too many rules and restrictions because too many people don't do what they are supposed to do and they have absolutely no respect for others. And too many rules and restrictions that are NEVER enforced and that's why they write more! The answer is very simple!!!

Scooter

Beach Fanatic
Mar 3, 2005
Atlanta, GA; New Orleans, LA