• Trouble logging in? Send us a message with your username and/or email address for help.

Iris

Beach Fanatic
Aug 10, 2009
Seacrest
I am really shocked at the lack of NEW books at the Coastal Branch. I can't seem to find any purchased after Jun 2009. I have asked numerous times and I get the same response. There is no funding for the Library. And that they have not been able to purchase new books for a while. I asked and was informed that they did not execute their complete FY 2009 budget and the funds have not been released back to them. They are still waiting. I assume I (which is not wise) that the unused funds are going to the other services snack fund accounts.

This is a sad situation. Our Walton County citizens both young and old need this vital service. We must invest in the education and the continued education of our citizens or all that Walton County is working toward will be to no avail. I am a retire military officer and worked many years in force structure (planning the future) while taking care of todays force. The same philosophy could be used here. Learn from history, examine today and focus on tomorrow. The economy is in a sad state of affairs. Most are looking at any way to save money. The library should be there for all to use with up to date books. It seems that there are more people are using the Library each time I go to the Coastal Branch.

We have many friends here and away (that have vacation homes here or visit) and so many refer to this wonderful county as "Walnut County". It is an embarassment. And it is the leadership they refer to not the residents. I have talked with many that like to visit but don't want to invest because of how tax dollars are invested back (or lack of) into the community.