• Trouble logging in? Send us a message with your username and/or email address for help.

Bob

SoWal Insider
Nov 16, 2004
O'Wal
Question for all. The area to the left{west} of the north end of 331 Bridge, Bay Grove Road, is this a desireable area for land investment/building a home? The portion of the road on the bay, facing south/west, is this area high or do wetlands abound? Are there mobile homes mixed with single family detached houses? Is the tree canopy in the area impressive as in the Eden area of Point Washington. Thank you for any feedback!

chrisv

Beach Fanatic
Nov 15, 2004
Freeport, Florida
Disclaimer: I am a Realtor and I live on Bay Grove Road.

Bay Grove is considered by many to be the premier area in Freeport, we love it. It is a tale of two roads, however. The south end of the road, on the bay, is lower and homes did flood during Ivan, and heavy rains fill yards. It is a mix of old fishing camps and newer, very nice homes (this is changing quickly, the fishcamps are on their way out.) There are more pines than hardwoods. The view of the sunset on the bay is incredible!

Further north, as the road turns along LaGrange and Mallet Bayous, the homes are more uniform, no trailers or fishcamps. There are many more old oaks and hardwoods (though no Eden Gardens,) and the land is higher- we had water in our yard from Ivan, but it got nowhere near any of the homes. Rain will fill the drainage ditches, but doesn't flood the yards so much. The bayous are also protected from the winds, even with a 15 knot wind our bayou is calm (mostly.)