• Trouble logging in? Send us a message with your username and/or email address for help.

fisher

Beach Fanatic
Sep 19, 2005
I guess you glanced over my post and missed words like "not being a day trader" or when "mortgage rates are low". My definition of conservative is they did not have any credit debt or car payments. They took fixed rate mortgages, usually 15 year terms.
In full disclosure, I am a mortgage broker by referral only with a large percentage of those referrals coming from Financial Planners.
I am not sure where you are getting your numbers from but also they do not appear to be taking into account the mortgage tax deduction.

Since 1927, the S&P 500 stock index has gained 10.4% a year on average. But in any given year it could be up 29.9% or down 9.0% or somewhere in between, says IFA.com. The trick is understanding that risk is a fact of investing. And it's also knowing you can manage risk intelligently by deciding how much risk you want to take and tailoring your portfolio to generate the top return for your level of acceptable risk.
To do that, it's important to understand the power of diversification and the benefits of owning many types of stocks, from large value-priced stocks to small value-priced stocks. Diversification lets you minimize the risk posed by a single stock or type of stock and lets you still get your share of the market's return. You must also understand that to claim your 10% return, you need to be invested for a number of years and ignore short-term stock movements.

The Borrowers I had take mortgages who didn't need to understood these principles, were not overweighted in anyone one investment and also had cash reserves. They also had low loan to values on their homes, so no risk of losing it if the economy tanks.