• Trouble logging in? Send us a message with your username and/or email address for help.

sdenly

Beach Comber
Jul 11, 2005
Hi,
I have been visiting the 30A area for many years, but the past two years it seems the private beach thing is getting to be more of an issue. Can anyone explain what is currently going on in Walton County with private beaches. If we rent a house that isn't beach front is our only choice to get to the beach via public beach access now? Just looking for some clarity.
Thanks!

Kurt

Admin
Staff member
Oct 15, 2004
SoWal
mooncreek.com
It depends on the house. it can be off the beach and still have deeded beach access. Or in a community with shared access like Rosemary Beach, Alys Beach, Seaside, WaterColor, Sandestin, etc. Or a smaller subdivision. Sometimes a single street or small group of houses have shared deeded access.

So there are a lot of good situations but the bad ones can be bad indeed. It's important to do your homework and rent from someone you can trust.

Truman

Beach Fanatic
Apr 3, 2009
If you like the towns like Seaside and WaterColor, and don't mind a lot of people then they are good places to be to have your access and other amenities.

Some of the county public accesses are problem places with a small bit of public beach sandwiched between "private" property. Meaning some accesses have like 50 feet of beach, to serve hundreds of rental homes nearby and adjacent "private" beaches with ropes, signs, and even some with employees that will tell you not to touch their "private" beach. If you avoid these trouble accesses you will likely be OK.

BTW - I'm aware that some of the enforcers are the same towns I mention in the first paragraph.

sdenly

Beach Comber
Jul 11, 2005