• Trouble logging in? Send us a message with your username and/or email address for help.

TooFarTampa

SoWal Insider
Pirate said:
I had a local crew ( Atlanta ) go stay at my house (1900s.f.) and paint it in 4 days in and out for 8k. I might recommend you try the same with a Tampa crew. 15k is ridiculous and 30k is laughable. I will come paint it myself in my pirate outfit for 20k. :rotfl:
:lolabove:

Uncle Timmy

Beach Fanatic
Nov 15, 2004
Blue Mountain Beach
Pirate said:
I paid $106 yd. for a sidewalk I just poured and paid $72 yd. for the same houses' foundation concrete 6 months earlier. Same company delivered the product. I am guessing I paid in the mid $50 in 1999.

I don't gain anything by sharing this Timmy, it's just a fact. 72 x 1.6 is 115 so I am $4 off and I apologize for that. I do this for a living so I assume it hurts me as much as anyone here.

The last 2 houses I sold at a loss as well FYI, both were more than 20 percent over budget.

Pirate,

I didn't mean any offense by questioning your numbers, it just seemed like your earlier post was suggesting a 40% (or so) total increase in building materials cost in the past 6 months. I felt this deserved some clarification.

I think maybe we are talking past each other a bit in terms of timing, I don't doubt your overall costs from the past 6 months, believe me I have seen it first hand. What I am passing along is information, both from builders and owners, in the past few weeeks that are reporting a decrease in bids. As I mentioned earlier; one contractor reported a framing bid 60% of what he was paying a year ago. Time will tell what overall impact this will have on the final construction cost, I will keep everybody advised on my findings.

Mango

SoWal Insider
Apr 7, 2006
New York/ Santa Rosa Beach
SHELLY said: