• Trouble logging in? Send us a message with your username and/or email address for help.

BlueMtnBeachVagrant

Beach Fanatic
Jun 20, 2005
HELLO, Tona-Roma was 100% about prescriptive easements. You and others claim that gulf front owners are losing something by the public using the beach, and that is what makes it a Prescriptive Easement issue. You are the one who has drifted off topic. .....

I asked what constituted "customary use". You responded with prescriptive easment stuff. Those are two issues as far as I can tell. I assume that from ecopal's post that Tona-Roma did not prevail on prescriptive use but on customary use.

I'm not a lawyer, but I think I interpreted ecopal's post properly. Are you saying the paragraph listed in ecopal's post is incorrect or not applicable?....

"....The court found that the Plaintiff had not established all of the technical requirements for a ?prescriptive easement? to exist in favor of the public. The court did, however, establish what some have called a ?doctrine of customary usage?."

Smiling JOe

SoWal Expert
Nov 18, 2004
I asked what constituted "customary use". You responded with prescriptive easment stuff. Those are two issues as far as I can tell. I assume that from ecopal's post that Tona-Roma did not prevail on prescriptive use but on customary use.

I'm not a lawyer, but I think I interpreted ecopal's post properly. Are you saying the paragraph listed in ecopal's post is incorrect or not applicable?....

"....The court found that the Plaintiff had not established all of the technical requirements for a ?prescriptive easement? to exist in favor of the public. The court did, however, establish what some have called a ?doctrine of customary usage?."
Yes, that paragraph is applicable. The reason prescriptive easements was thrown out in Tona Rama was due to the Court stating that the plaintiff didn't lose any value by the public using the land.