High-Speed Internet

Discussion in 'Business, Goods and Services' started by Ms. A-town, Nov 6, 2005.

  1. aquaticbiology

    aquaticbiology fishlips

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    redneck heaven
    put a password in your wireless router!

    the generic version - if it dont work check your modems website - and dont forget what name and password you give the thing

    First, make sure the router is on and you're connected to it - the software you are about to run in actually inside the router, so the computer just needs a web browser (like internet explorer)

    Open a web browser (like internet explorer) and go to this address:

    http://192.168.0.1

    if you don't see anything your router is probably a different address - check your manual or the makers website

    if it asked you to login, type in the following username and leave the password blank (if you set up an administrator account then log in with the administrator username and password instead)

    User Name: admin
    Password: [leave blank]

    The next screen you see should be the router's config screen.

    Run the wizard to configure the router; make sure to give it a name and password you can remember.

    Click the "Wireless" button on the left side of the screen. Activate WEP and generate encryption keys. Pick 64bit keys if you are given a choice (longer keys (128 or 256 bit) will slow your wireless network down a tiny bit more more than shorter (64 bit) keys)

    don't forget what you set it to.
     
  2. ShallowsNole

    ShallowsNole Beach Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    4,213
    Likes Received:
    717
    Location:
    Pt Washington

    MCHSI is available on Georgie Street? :pissed:

    I'm just down the road from where you live, and Mediacom isn't available down here. Methinks that since there currently isn't anything being built in my neighborhood and we all have satellite since Mediacom wasn't already here, we are toast. :bang:

    Anyway, :welcome: to the 'hoods on the Bay!
     
  3. John R

    John R needs to get out more

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    6,771
    Likes Received:
    806
    Location:
    Conflictinator
    scarltbegonia you could always get a verizon wireless card for the beach, or anywhere, for that matter. +-$79/mo

    aquaticbiology, not a fan of the open network? i understand not wanting some kid to to take down one's bandwith by hosting a torrent, but it's great to be able to open one's lappy and find a network to check on something when the client or rental home doesn't have something set up yet.
     
  4. Smiling JOe

    Smiling JOe SoWal Expert

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    31,648
    Likes Received:
    1,771
    Yes, MediaCom is in the Cabbage Rose area of Magnolia Beach. Here is another twist -- MediaCom has cable ran in Grayton Bayou, but not in the adjacent neighborhood of Magnolia Beach (Magnolia Beach s/d is separated by Bay Magnolia). MediaCom says if the homeowners in that part of Mag. Bch. want it, they will have to pay to run it, and it ain't cheap. I am uncertain of how far down E Pt Washington MediaCom runs, but I have seen a MediaCom sign posted in Phase II of The Woods s/d announcing MediaCom cable was available at that location.
     
  5. scrltbegonya

    scrltbegonya Beach Fanatic

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,091
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    SRB
    Thanks!
     
  6. ShallowsNole

    ShallowsNole Beach Fanatic

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    4,213
    Likes Received:
    717
    Location:
    Pt Washington

    I saw that sign too, and called them. Last week. Got a Mediacom employee's voice mail. Twice. No call back yet. :dunno:

    We should be able to go with the fellow Kurt recommends soon (Aircomm Broadband) - just waiting on his new Freeport tower to be up and running. If that doesn't work, I guess we'll end up forking it over for the web via satellite.
     
  7. sweet

    sweet Beach Lover

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2005
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does anybody know who can install and set my high speed internet in my home form. Is there someone local
     
  8. Smiling JOe

    Smiling JOe SoWal Expert

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    31,648
    Likes Received:
    1,771
    Sounds like you need to pm John R. That is one thing for which he gets paid.
     
  9. aquaticbiology

    aquaticbiology fishlips

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    redneck heaven
    I've been reading about this and if it isn't illegal (and probably is) then it ought to be - just one access by someone other than you to a kiddie porno site or 'terrorist' site and the owners of the network (you!) are in danger of being carted off to jail )without a trial or even a phone call) by the new homeland security police, and with the new reporting sitelogger built into windows xp its now a sure thing. "well my machine will prove my innocence" is a fine argument, but if it happened over 20 days ago and you used the default settings it can be said it had been erased, and the best yet, it may take them a week to get a round tuit to check your computer!
    :pissed:
     
  10. John R

    John R needs to get out more

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    6,771
    Likes Received:
    806
    Location:
    Conflictinator
    it is currently illegal, but it brings into play the open public networks in NYC. i'll question the scenario you put forth. if i'm a terrorist in NYC walking around trying to find questionable materials on the net, who's holding the bag, the administrator? the suspected terrorist would be long gone by the time anyone in govt. had the gumption to act. by the same token, what would happen to the operator of this board if the same thing was happening via pm's?

    not trying to start an argument, just wondering aloud. only because my personal belief is that if everyone had open access their AP's, we'd have a mesh network available. it would be great to be able to log on anywhere along 30a

    jr
     
  11. aquaticbiology

    aquaticbiology fishlips

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    redneck heaven
    ain't no free lunch, it just means that nobody but one dumb guy would buy service - wifi repeaters would work in 4 mile increments to cover the area, they work great too, got one here on the farm for the tagger - right now the law is not specific but i expect that to change in the very short future (you'll get a lot of work running around password protecting networks!) - three times the bill has come up for debate but the senate left it on the table undebated.

    you can't even carry a farmer's almanac (or go to their website!) without getting a look-see from the new ss, so i see this year as another one where personal freedoms will be overridden by hobnailed boots in an attempt to 'protect' us slaves.

    enough political bs! - this is supposed to be fun - if it stops raining and freezing :bang: i'll be about 2 miles offshore next weekend - taking off a couple of days off for good behavior (mating fish absolutely wears you out :razz: ) - see y'all out there!

    goodnight to this thread
     

Share This Page